Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Exploring Salzburg

Salzburg Global Seminar
30 July 2019 / 5.30–6.30 pm

Exploring Salzburg 2018
Exploring Salzburg 2018, photo: Mira Turba


Founded in Leopoldskron Palace in 1947, the “Salzburg Seminar in American Studies” (now the Salzburg Global Seminar) pursued the so-called “Marshall Plan for the Mind”, a rebuilding initiative on an intellectual level, along the lines of the Marshall Plan (officially the European Recovery Program) in which the United States gave economic assistance to western European economies after World War II. Since its early years, the Salzburg Global Seminar has continued to develop from a transatlantic into a global organisation. In a tour of Leopoldskron Palace, Susanna Seidl-Fox will tell participants about the Salzburg Global Seminar, and particularly about the cultural branch of the institution. How did this originally American initiative come to Salzburg, how has it developed, why this location, and what are its aims?

Meeting-point: Leopoldskron Palace, Leopoldskronstrasse 56–58, 5020 Salzburg
Language: English

Please book a place under presse@summeracademy.at, Tel. +43 662 842113
Places of global lifestyle and activities

The 2019 Exploring Salzburg walks will take groups to places that reflect global life in the town. Even though it is temporarily filled with international visitors during the summer months, Salzburg has international communities and institutions which operate year-round, devoted to global topics and/or bringing visitors to Salzburg from around the world.

Ever since it was founded in 1953, the Summer Academy has been internationally oriented. Initially, it was only the “western” art world that participated, but over the years it has increasingly seen teachers and students coming from all over the world. So this year we are seeking out places, communities and institutions in the town where lifestyle, ideas and activities are globally oriented.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Salzburg erkunden

Salzburg Global Seminar
30. Juli 2019 / 17.30 Uhr

Salzburg Erkunden 2018
Salzburg Erkunden 2018, Foto: Mira Turba


1947 als „Salzburg Seminar in American Studies“ im Schloss Leopoldskron gegründet, verfolgte das heutige Salzburg Global Seminar nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg den so genannten „Marshall Plan for the Mind“, einen Wiederaufbau auf intellektueller Ebene. Es war an den im gleichen Jahr initiierten „Marshallplan“ (offiziell „European Recovery Program“) der US­-Regierung zur Unterstützung des Wiederaufbaus angelehnt. Seit diesen Anfangsjahren hat sich das Salzburg Global Seminar bis zum heutigen Tag kontinuierlich von einer transatlan­tischen zu einer globalen Organisation weiterentwickelt. Susanna Seidl-Fox stellt den Teilnehmenden im Rahmen eines Spaziergangs durch das Schloss Leopoldskron das Salzburg Global Seminar und vor allem den kulturellen Zweig der Institution vor. Wie kam diese ursprünglich amerikanische Initiative nach Salzburg, wie hat sie sich bis heute entwickelt, warum dieser Standort, und was sind die Ziele?

Treffpunkt: Schloss Leopoldskron, Leopoldskronstraße 56–58, 5020 Salzburg
Sprache: Englisch

Anmeldung erbeten unter: presse@summeracademy.at or +43 662 842113

Orte des globalen Lebens und Handelns

Die Stadtspaziergänge 2019 erkunden Orte in Salzburg, die das globale Leben in der Stadt widerspiegeln. Auch wenn sich die Stadt während der Sommermonate temporär mit internationalem Publikum füllt, gibt es internationale Gemeinschaften oder Institutionen, die sich ganzjährig globalen Themen widmen und/oder einen internationalen InteressentInnenkreis nach Salzburg ziehen.

Die Sommerakademie ist seit ihrer Gründung 1953 international ausgerichtet. War es zuerst nur die internationale „westliche“ Kunstwelt, die zu Gast war, kommen mittlerweile Lehrende und Studierende aus der ganzen Welt. In diesem Sinne schauen wir uns in diesem Jahr in der Stadt um – nach Orten, nach Gemeinschaften, nach Institutionen, die global leben, denken und handeln.