Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Those who can, do. Those who can do more, teach.

  • 24 March 2021

210323_Pressfolder_en

The Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts invites applications to its programme for 2021.



Courses will be held at the Fortress Hohensalzburg (hybrid classrooms), the Fuerstenbrunn Quarry (on site) or as Webinars (online). Each year, the Academy invites international artists, curators, collectives, educators, scholars and writers to serve as instructors for its course-programme. In 2021, we are pleased to offer courses under the instructorship of: Rossella Biscotti (Italy/Belgium), Cäcilia Brown (France/Austria) / Anna Hofbauer (Austria) / Mikkel Holm Torp (Denmark/Italy), Cosmin Costinaş (Romania/Hong Kong) / Inti Guerrero (Colombia/Hong Kong), Anna Daučiková (Slovakia/Czech Republic), Shezad Dawood (United Kingdom), Christina Dimitriadis (Greece/Germany), Louisa Elderton (United Kingdom/Germany) / Klaus Speidel (Germany/Austria), Léuli Eshrãghi (Australia/Canada), Flaka Haliti (Kosovo/Germany), Ho Tzu Nyen (Singapore) with Jan Gerber and Sebastian Lütgert (Germany), Nadira Husain (France/Germany) / Flora Klein (Switzerland/Germany), Leon Kahane (Germany), Wasif Munem (Bangladesh), Christian Nyampeta (Ruanda/USA), Shubigi Rao (Singapore), ruangrupa (Indonesia/Germany), Francis Ruyter (USA/Austria).

At the Academy, instructors translate their practice and research into a pedagogical relationship withstudents, in order to explore contemporary art practices in mutually interrogative, personal and persistent ways. Conversations are undertaken with a view toward materializing art-related ideas or transmit them into research and life. The programme reflects current trends in contemporary art such as performance and poetics (Eshrãghi, Nyampeta), VR/AR animation/algorithms (Dawood, Ho), archiving (Kahane, Munem, Ruyter) and collective/community-oriented practices (Costinaş/Guerrero, ruangrupa) as well as methodological approaches to decoloniality (Husain/Klein, Rao), eco-criticism (Biscotti, Haliti) and feminism (Daučiková, Dimitriadis) in art.

Public Programme

On the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the Summer Academy in 2023, the Summer Academy launches the research project, Horizons of Possibility (working title), under the initiative of Sophie Goltz, Director of the Summer Academy since 2021, and co-curated by Marina Fokidis, Director of the magazine South as a Global State of Mind. The project investigates emergent pedagogies of art education that enjoin current understandings of gender, diversity and coexistence with technical and artistic developments. The project continues lines of questioning introduced through the Planetary Academy(under the initiative of Hildegund Amanshauser, former Director of the Summer Academy, 2009–2020).

Besides exhibitions in the Galerie im Traklhaus by Leon Kahane and in the Stadtgalerie im Zwerglgarten by Rosella Biscotti, artist talks are planned in collaboration with Galerie 5020 and film presentations in the Sunset Kino of the Salzburger Kunstverein.

 In co-operation with the Fotohof in Salzburg, for the first time the Summer Academy is offering a workshop for young people, with artist Randa Mirza (Lebanon/France).

Press photos are available upon request!

Further details:
Simone Rudolph
Communications & director’s assistant
presse@summeracademy.at, tel.: +43 (0)662 842113

SUMMERACADEMY.AT19/07–28/08/21

EDUCATION / RESEARCH / ARCHIVE / CYBERSPACE / SPATIAL
PRACTICE / HISTORY / COMMUNITY / CREATIVITY / GAME

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Those who can, do. Those who can do more, teach.

  • 24. März 2021

210323_Pressemappe

Die Internationale Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst Salzburg präsentiert das Programm für 2021.

 

Insgesamt 17 Kurse werden auf der Festung Hohensalzburg (hybride Klassenräume), im Steinbruch Fürstenbrunn (vor Ort) oder als Webinare (online) stattfinden. Seit fast 70 Jahren lädt die Sommerakademie internationale Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen, Kollektive, Kunstvermittler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Autor*innen ein, in Salzburg zu unterrichten. In diesem Jahr finden Kurse statt unter der künstlerischen Leitung von: Rossella Biscotti (Italien/Belgien), Cäcilia Brown (Frankreich/Österreich) / Anna Hofbauer (Österreich) / Mikkel Holm Torp (Dänemark/Italien), Cosmin Costinaş (Rumänien/Hongkong) / Inti Guerrero (Kolumbien/Hongkong), Anna Daučiková (Slowakei/Tschechien), Shezad Dawood (Großbritannien), Christina Dimitriadis (Griechenland/Deutschland), Louisa Elderton (Großbritannien/Deutschland) / Klaus Speidel (Deutschland/Österreich), Léuli Eshrãghi (Australien/Kanada), Flaka Haliti (Kosovo/Deutschland), Ho Tzu Nyen (Singapur) mit Jan Gerber / Sebastian Lütgert (Deutschland), Nadira Husain (Frankreich/ Deutschland) / Flora Klein (Schweiz/ Deutschland), Leon Kahane (Deutschland), Wasif Munem (Bangladesch), Christian Nyampeta (Ruanda/USA), Shubigi Rao (Singapur), ruangrupa (Indonesien/ Deutschland), Francis Ruyter (USA/Österreich).

 

Die eingeladenen Lehrenden übertragen ihre Praxis und Forschung in ein pädagogisches Verhältnis, um gemeinsam mit den Studierenden, Kunst neugierig, persönlich und ausdauernd zu erproben in Erwartung eines möglichen Materialisierens von künstlerischen Ideen oder deren Übertragung in Recherche und Leben. Das Programm reflektiert aktuelle Tendenzen zeitgenössischer Kunst wie etwa Performance und Poetik (Eshrãghi, Nyampeta), VR/AR-Animationen/Algorithmen (Dawood, Ho), Archivieren (Kahane, Munem, Ruyter) sowie kollektive/community-orientierte Praxen (Costinas/Guerrero, ruangrupa) als auch methodische Ansätze der Dekolonialität (Husain/Klein, Rao), des Eco-Criticisms (Biscotti, Haliti) und des Feminismus‘ (Daučiková, Dimitriadis) in der Kunst.

 

Programm Kunstvermittlung

Anlässlich des 70-jährigen Jubiläums der Sommerakademie in 2023 startet die Sommerakademie das Rechercheprojekt Möglichkeitshorizonte (Arbeitstitel), initiiert von Sophie Goltz, Direktorin der Sommerakademie seit 2021, und ko-kuratiert von Marina Fokidis, Herausgeberin des Magazins South as a State of Mind. Das Projekt untersucht aufkommende Pädagogiken in der Kunstausbildung, die aktuelle Verständnisse von Gender, Diversität und Koexistenz mit technologischen und künstlerischen Entwicklungen verbinden. Es setzt die durch die Planetary Academy (initiiert von Hildegund Amanshauser, ehemalige Direktorin Sommerakademie 2009–2020) eingeführten Fragestellungen weiter fort.

 

Neben Ausstellungen in der Galerie im Traklhaus mit Leon Kahane und in der Stadtgalerie im Zwerglgarten mit Rosella Biscotti sind Künstler*innengespräche in Kooperation mit der 5020 Galerie und Filmpräsentationen im Sunset Kino des Salzburger Kunstvereins geplant.

In Kooperation mit dem Fotohof in Salzburg bietet die Sommerakademie erstmals einen Workshop für Jugendliche an zusammen mit der Künstlerin Randa Mirza (Libanon/Frankreich).

 

Pressefotos sind auf Anfrage verfügbar!

 

Weitere Informationen:
Simone Rudolph
Kommunikation & Direktionsassistenz
presse@summeracademy.at, Tel.: +43 (0)662 842113

SUMMERACADEMY.AT19/07–28/08/21

EDUCATION / RESEARCH / ARCHIVE / CYBERSPACE / SPATIAL
PRACTICE / HISTORY / COMMUNITY / CREATIVITY / GAME