Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

MARTIN HERBERT

Writing about contemporary art
30 July–8 August 2018

Wirtin about contemporary art, class room, Martin Herbert
photo: Mira Turba


Medium
Writing


Location
Hohensalzburg Fortress

Languages
English (primarily), German

What to bring
Laptop, notebook, curiosity, works in progress

Requirements
None, beyond an interest in contemporary art and writing about it

Maximum number of participants
20

Co-teacher
Andrea Kopranovic

Participation fee
€ 600,– (€ 470,–)

There are many reasons to write about contemporary art, whether you’re writing criticism in its various forms, producing an explanatory text for a museum, or simply want to put the personal experience of visiting a gallery into language that lives up to it. In this course, designed to be useful to anyone who seeks to develop or improve their writing in this field, we will consider how to respond with creativity and clarity to the subjective process of looking at contemporary art.

A number of formats will be explored, including the exhibition review, the longer essay and the institutional text, on the understanding that there are things to be learned from all of them. We’ll practise responding to artworks, and also consider professional skills such as pitching articles and reviews, researching, interviewing, dealing with editing, and what – and how – to read in order to improve one’s craft. Most of all, we’ll examine how to convey the effects of richly complex images and objects without simplifying them, and how writing about art can be a way of discovering what we really think.

There was a magazine produced in this course, you can find it here!
Martin Herbert is a British writer and critic based in Berlin. His writing about contemporary art has been published for over 20 years in magazines including Artforum, Frieze, Parkett and many others, as well as in newspapers such as the UK’s Daily Telegraph. He has also written several books (see below) and a forthcoming book on the American artist Carol Bove, Unfold This Moment. In addition to this, for the past decade he has worked as an editor, primarily as associate editor for
the London-based ArtReview.

Herbert also regularly writes catalogue essays, which have been published by institutions including the Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY (US)), the Serpentine Gallery (London), Tate Britain, the Hayward Gallery (London) and the Biennale di Venezia . He lectures regularly in international art schools, and was a juror for the 2017 Turner Prize.

Publications
Martin Herbert: Tell Them I Said No, Sternberg Press, New York 2016.
Martin Herbert: The Uncertainty Principle, Sternberg Press, New York 2014.
Martin Herbert: Mark Wallinger, Thames & Hudson, United Kingdom 2011.

www.martinherbert.info

 
Portrait photo Martin Herbert

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

MARTIN HERBERT

Schreiben über zeitgenössische Kunst
30. Juli–8. August 2018

Sonnenstuhl mit Laptop, Schreibklasse, 2017
Foto: Mira Turba


Medium
Schreiben


Ort
Festung Hohensalzburg

Sprachen
Englisch (vorwiegend), Deutsch

Mitzubringen sind
Laptop, Notizheft, Neugierde, in Arbeit befindliche Texte


Voraussetzungen
Bereitschaft zur Gruppenarbeit

Maximale Anzahl der Teilnehmenden
20

Co-Lehrende
Andrea Kopranovic

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 600,– (€ 470,–)

Es gibt viele Gründe, über zeitgenössische Kunst zu schreiben, sei es um sich in irgendeiner Spielart der Kunstkritik zu betätigen, erläuternde Texte für ein Museum zu verfassen oder einfach nur um die persönliche Erfahrung eines Galeriebesuchs in treffende Worte zu fassen. Der Kurs richtet sich an alle, die ihr Schreiben auf diesem Gebiet entwickeln oder verbessern möchten. Wir wollen erkunden, was es heißt, den subjektiven Prozess zeitgenössischer Kunstbetrachtung kreativ und klar in einen Text zu überführen.

Wir werden uns mit verschiedenen Formaten beschäftigen: der Ausstellungsbesprechung, dem längeren Aufsatz und Texten für Institutionen, wissend, dass man von all diesen Formen lernen kann. Wir werden üben, auf Kunstwerke einzugehen, aber auch an professionellen Fertigkeiten arbeiten: wie man Artikel und Rezensionen vermarktet, recherchiert, Interviews führt, redigiert und was und wie man am besten liest, um das eigene Handwerk zu verbessern. Vor allem aber wollen wir uns darauf konzentrieren, wie man ohne zu banalisieren die Wirkung höchst komplexer Bilder und Objekte vermittelt und das Schreiben über Kunst als eine Möglichkeit begreifen kann, herauszufinden was man wirklich denkt.

Im Kurs ist ein Magazin entstanden, zu finden hier!
Martin Herbert ist ein in Berlin lebender britischer Kritiker und Kunstschriftsteller. Seine Texte über zeitgenössische Kunst erscheinen seit über 20 Jahren in Zeitschriften wie Artforum, Frieze, Parkett und anderen, aber auch Tageszeitungen wie dem Daily Telegraph. Er ist Verfasser mehrere Bücher (siehe unten) und des demnächst erscheinenden Bandes Unfold This Moment über die U.S.-amerikanische Künstlerin Carol Bove. Zusätzlich war er in den letzten zehn Jahren auch herausgeberisch tätig, insbesondere als Associate Editor der in London erscheinenden Zeitschrift ArtReview.

Daneben schreibt Herbert regelmäßig Katalogbeiträge für Institutionen wie das Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY (US)), die Serpentine Gallery (London), Tate Britain, die Hayward Gallery (London) oder die Biennale di Venezia, und lehrt regelmäßig an internationalen Kunstakademien. 2017 war er einer der Juroren des Turnerpreises.

Publikationen
Martin Herbert: Tell Them I Said No, Sternberg Press, New York 2016.
Martin Herbert: The Uncertainty Principle, Sternberg Press, New York 2014.
Martin Herbert: Mark Wallinger, Thames & Hudson, Vereinigtes Königreich 2011.

www.martinherbert.info

 
Porträtfoto von Martin Herbert