Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Rahel Aima

14 August 2019 / 7–8 pm

Rahel Aima, Palace Gossip, 2018
Palace Gossip, 2018, performance reading, gyrfalcon, falconer's glove, hood, jesses, courtesy of Raja'a Khalid


The discovery of oil changed the landscape of the Arabian Gulf. It changed the texture of what would become its city-states, as well as the demographics of the people who would occupy them. It ordained a new age of petromateriality influenced as much by the substance’s viscosity as by the new materials it created. This emphasis on petroleum-derived products left its mark on the region’s burgeoning contemporary art scene, most notably the early Emirati conceptualists. The prominence of oil receded but the pursuit of plastic remained. Everything accelerated, the UAE announced its Mars Mission and the aesthetic scaffolding of Gulf Futurism was overwritten by a fleshier, more militarised present, and contemporary artists responded in kind.

Today, if you want to navigate the globe you probably pass through an airport like Dubai. Maybe your own city increasingly feels like Dubai. A tessellation of free ports and starchitected paeans to finance capital; a bifurcation between citizens and temporary workers; a post-Westernness driven by market and expedience much more than by ideological sympathies. But the only way to navigate the  planetary is through water: via temperature and humidity, through rising sea levels and drought. Because after peak oil comes peak plastic, and it is not far off. The world changed the Gulf, but not as much as the Gulf is changing the planet.
Rahel Aima is a writer, editor, and critic currently based in Brooklyn, NY (US). She was the founding editor of THE STATE, and is a 2018 recipient of the Arts Writers Grant. She is currently at work on a book about colour and futurity, and a collection of exhibition fiction set in Dubai.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Rahel Aima

14. August 2019 / 19 Uhr

Rahel Aima, Palace Gossip, 2018
Palace Gossip, 2018, performative Lesung, Gerfalke, Falknerhandschuh, Haube, Fesseln, Courtesy von Raja'a Khalid


Als am Arabischen Golf Ölvorkommen entdeckt wurden, veränderte das die Region – die Beschaffenheit der neu entstehenden Stadtstaaten und auch die Struktur ihrer Bevölkerung. Es wurde ein Zeitalter der Petromaterialität eingeläutet, das von der Zähflüssigkeit dieser Substanz ebenso geprägt wurde wie von den neuen Stoffen, die durch sie entstanden. Die Konzentration auf Produkte aus Erdöl beeinflusste die aufstrebende zeitgenössische Kunstszene der Region, vor allem die frühen Konzept­künstlerInnen der Emirate. Während die Dominanz des Öls zurückging, blieb das Interesse an Kunststoff unverändert. Alles wurde schnelllebiger, die Emirate kündigten eine eigene Marsmission an, das ästhetische Gerüst des Golf­-Futurismus wurde von einer fleischi­geren, militarisierteren Gegenwart überschrieben und zeitgenössische KünstlerInnen reagierten darauf.

Wenn man heute die Welt bereist, dann passiert man wahrscheinlich auch einen Flughafen wie Dubai. Viel­leicht kommt uns unsere eigene Stadt immer mehr wie Dubai vor. Ein Mosaik aus Freihäfen und von Star­architekten begleitete Lobgesänge auf das Finanzkapital; eine Spaltung zwischen BürgerInnen und ZeitarbeiterIn­nen; eine Postwestlichkeit, die stärker vom Markt und von Zweckmäßigkeit angetrieben wird als von ideologischen Sympathien. Aber die einzige Möglichkeit, sich auf diesem Planeten zu orientieren, ist durch Wasser: durch Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit, durch den steigenden Meeresspiegel und Dürre. Denn auf Peak Oil folgt Peak Plastic – und es wird nicht mehr lange dauern. Die Welt hat den Golf verändert, aber nicht so sehr wie der Golf den Planeten.
Rahel Aima lebt als Autorin, Redakteurin und Kritikerin in Brooklyn, NY (US). Sie war die Gründungsherausgeberin von THE STATE und erhielt 2018 den Arts Writers Grant. Derzeit arbeitet sie an einem Buch über Farbe und Zukunft und an einer Sammlung von fiktiven Ausstellungsgeschichten, die in Dubai spielen.