Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Francis Ruyter

Picture Generation
2–14 August 2021

Francis Ruyter, Walker Evans
Walker Evans: Sharecropper Bud Fields and his family at home. Hale County, Alabama, 2010,
acrylic on canvas, 150x180cm. Photo: courtesy Bildrecht


Course format
Hybrid class

Participation
Either Fortress Hohensalzburg (on site) or online*

Teaching Language
English (German also available)

What to bring
Laptop/tablet with camera and microphone, personal materials (pictures or things looked at regularly, which have a strong relationship to personal ideas about art, either directly or indirectly), finished or nearly finished work, materials for new work.

Requirements
None.

Maximum number of participants
12 on site, 6 online

Participation fee
€ 640,– (€ 480,–)

Artists often keep an archive of images around their workspace for inspiration. But what is the relationship and process between looking at something and integrating that into art practice, whether it is a literal or abstract integration? What is it that makes a portrait of a person sitting for that portrait so magnetic? Looking is a tool that can be used when one is lost for an idea of where to start making an artwork, or it can function as a foundation, grounding us well to be able to depart on flights of fantasy.

Looking is far from a passive activity. If looking is, therefore, a productive activity, we can improve the impact of an individual work by developing perceptive skills along with artistic ones. We will consider the possibility of collectivity in these processes. With the global acceleration of image production, can we do something to mediate, or even transform this collective looking into something more productive than it often feels, or do we need to hold on to and treasure the private sphere of immediate experiences? Perception is perhaps less about fixed truths and realities than about world-building. What does it mean when we want to make a connection outside the world that we have built around ourselves?

In the class, students learn to focus on using their eyes to push their work forward. Different artworks are analysed in the context of such an approach. Through regular practice of object description, the student will be armed with an ability to speak about how a work functions as a communication vehicle. This shared activity can uncover surprises and practical knowledge for improving the ability to transmit information in any chosen medium.

The class meetings will be a conversational rather than a lecture format. Special guests explore how they have integrated looking into their practice. There will also be time for studio work and individual consultations.

*If necessary, the course may be held exclusively online.

 
Francis Ruyter was born in Washington DC (US) in 1968. He works with issues of style and recognition behind image-making, and connects this activity to social and technological forces driving contemporary experience and historical archiving.

The work he is best known for takes the form of very recognisable painting strategy indexed to photographic sources, using smooth and flat application of unmodulated colour, restrained within a framework drawing consisting of uniformly applied black lines. While it is often described as a ‘signature style,’ he prefers to think of it as a representation of a medium, perhaps somewhere between painting and photography.

In 2008, he began replacing his own photographic source material with the Library of Congress’ FSA/OWI archive of depression-era photographs, conceptually locating ‘the archive’ as subject matter, in place of depicting images sourced from his own lived experience.

Collaborative work with other artists has always been a high priority and an essential part of Ruyter’s artistic practice. He currently lives in Vienna, where he has produced more than 30 exhibitions of other artists’ work since opening Galerie Lisa Ruyter there in 2003. He was a founder of Team Gallery in 1995/96–2001. He is currently a member of the board of the Association of Visual Artists, Vienna Secession.

Solo exhibitions:
2020 Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Neuer Kunstverein Wien, Vienna. Such Wet Eyes, Song Song, Vienna. 2019 Hurricane/Time/Image, FRANZ JOSEFS KAI 3, Vienna. 2018, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Galeria Senda, Barcelona (ES). 2015, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Eleven Rivington, New York, NY (US). 2012, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, CONNERSMITH, Washington DC. 2012, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Alan Cristea Gallery, London.

Group exhibitions
2020 God in reverse: When wisdom defies capture, The Richmond Art Galery, Richmond BC (CA). Spaces of no control, Austrian Cultural Forum, New York, NY (US). 2018 History in the Making, Alan Cristea Gallery, London. City Fabrics, ARCC, Vienna. Queer, Kunstforum Montafon, Schruns (AT). 2017 Publishing as an artistic toolbox, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna. This is the sea, Big Mak / artmonte-carlo salon d’art, Monaco.

Education
1991–92 Graduate Fine Arts Program, Hunter College, New York, NY.
1986–90 School of Visual Arts, New York, NY.
1982–86 MCPS Art Center, Maryland (US).

Teaching
2011–12 Expanded Pictorial Space, The Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna, guest professor
2002 Advanced Painting, Cooper Union, undergraduate, New York, NY.
2001 Painting II, Columbia University, undergraduate, New York, NY.
2000 Visiting artist, Temple University Tyler School of Art, Philadelphia, PA (US).
2000 Painting II, Maryland Institute, College of Art, Baltimore (US).
1999 Advanced Painting, Cooper Union, undergraduate, New York, NY.
1999 Visiting artist, New York University, graduate, New York, NY.
1998 Visiting artist, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA (US).

http://theruyter.com/
SUMMERACADEMY. AT19/07–28/08/2021

EDUCATION / RESEARCH / ARCHIVE / CYBERSPACE / SPATIAL
PRACTICE / HISTORY / COMMUNITY / CREATIVITY / GAME

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Francis Ruyter

Picture Generation
2.–14. August 2021

Francis Ruyter
Walker Evans: Sharecropper Bud Fields and his family at home. Hale County, Alabama, 2010,
Acrylfarbe auf Leinwand,
150x180cm. Foto: courtesy Bildrecht


Kursformat
Hybrider Kurs

Teilnahme
Entweder Festung Hohensalzburg(vor Ort) oder Online*

Unterrichtssprache
Englisch (Deutsch auch möglich)

Mitzubringen sind
Laptop/Tablet mit Kamera und Mikrofon, persönliche Materialien (Bilder oder Dinge, die regelmäßig nachgeschlagen werden und die direkt oder indirekt einen starken Bezug zu persönlichen Vorstellungen von Kunst haben), fertige oder fast fertige Arbeiten, Materialien für neue Arbeiten.

Voraussetzungen
Keine

Maximale Anzahl von Teilnehmenden
12 vor Ort, 6 Online

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 640,– (€ 480,–)

Künstler*innen besitzen oft ein Archiv von Bildern in ihrem Arbeitsbereich, um sich inspirieren zu lassen. Doch was ist die Beziehung und der Prozess zwischen dem Betrachten einer Sache und deren Integration in die künstlerische Arbeit – egal ob es sich um eine wörtliche oder abstrakte Integration handelt? Worin besteht die Anziehungskraft des Porträts einer Person, die für dieses Porträt sitzt? Das Betrachten ist ein Werkzeug. Es kann benutzt werden, wenn man nicht weiß, wo man mit der Arbeit an einem Kunstwerk beginnen soll. Es kann aber auch als ein Fundament dienen, das uns gut erdet, um unserer Fantasie Auftrieb zu geben.

Betrachten ist alles andere als eine passive Tätigkeit. Wenn das Schauen also eine produktive Tätigkeit ist, dann erzielen wir eine stärkere Wirkung eines einzelnen Werks, indem wir neben den künstlerischen auch unsere Fähigkeiten der Wahrnehmung entwickeln. Wir werden die Möglichkeit der Kollektivität in diesen Prozessen berücksichtigen. Können wir angesichts der globalen Beschleunigung der Bildproduktion etwas tun, um dieses kollektive Betrachten zu vermitteln oder gar in etwas Produktiveres umzuwandeln, als es oft scheint? Oder müssen wir an der sehr persönlichen Sphäre der unmittelbaren Erfahrungen festhalten und diese wertschätzen? Bei der Wahrnehmung geht es vielleicht nicht so sehr um unumstößliche Wahrheit und Wirklichkeit, sondern vielmehr um den Aufbau von Welten. Was bedeutet es, wenn wir eine Verbindung außerhalb jener Welt herstellen wollen, die wir um uns herum aufgebaut haben?

In diesem Kurs lernen die Studierenden, ihre Arbeit dadurch voranzutreiben, dass sie ihre Augen einsetzen. Wir beschäftigen uns damit, wie unterschiedliche Kunstwerke im Rahmen eines solchen Ansatzes analysiert werden. Durch die regelmäßige Objektbeschreibung, üben sich die Studierenden darin, zu artikulieren, wie ein Werk als Kommunikationsmittel dient. Diese gemeinsame Aktivität kann Überraschungen hervorbringen und vermittelt praktisches Wissen zur Verbesserung der Fähigkeit, Informationen in beliebig gewählte Medien zu übertragen.

Die Sessions des Kurses besitzen eher Gesprächscharakter und entsprechen weniger einem Vorlesungsformat. Gastreferenten berichten, wie sie das Betrachten in ihre Praxis integriert haben. Die übrige Zeit ist für Atelierarbeit und individuelle Beratungen vorgesehen.

*Wenn nötig, findet der Kurs ausschließlich online statt.

 
Francis Ruyter wurde 1968 in Washington DC geboren. Er beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Stil und Wiedererkennungswert bei der Bilderzeugung. Diese Arbeit verbindet er mit sozialen und technologischen Kräften, die das gegenwärtige Erleben und die historische Archivierung vorantreiben.

Am besten bekannt ist er für seine Arbeitstechnik mit sehr hohem Wiedererkennungswert. Diese bezieht sich auf fotografische Quellen und, eingegrenzt von Umrandungen aus gleichmäßig aufgetragenen schwarzen Linien, wird die Farbe unmoduliert, glatt und flach aufgetragen. Obwohl diese Technik oft als sein charakteristischer Stil bezeichnet wird, zieht er es vor, ihn als Darstellung eines Mediums zu betrachten, das vielleicht irgendwo zwischen Malerei und Fotografie liegt.

Im Jahr 2008 begann er, sein eigenes fotografisches Quellenmaterial durch das FSA/OWI-Archiv der Library of Congress mit Fotografien aus der Zeit der Wirtschaftsdepression zu ersetzen. Dabei verortete er konzeptionell „das Archiv“ als Subjekt, anstatt eigene Lebenserfahrungen abzubilden.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstlern hatte für Ruyters stets einen hohen Stellenwert und ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil seiner künstlerischen Praxis. Derzeit lebt er in Wien, wo er seit der Eröffnung der Galerie Lisa Ruyter im Jahr 2003 mehr als 30 Ausstellungen mit Werken anderer Künstler organisiert hat. Er war einer der Gründer von Team Gallery in den Jahren 1995/96–2001. Aktuell ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Vereinigung Bildender KünstlerInnen Wiener Secession.

Einzelausstellungen
2020 Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Neuer Kunstverein Wien. Such Wet Eyes, Song Song, Wien. 2019 Hurricane/Time/Image, FRANZ JOSEFS KAI 3, Wien. 2018, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Galeria Senda, Barcelona (ES). 2015, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Eleven Rivington, New York, NY (US). 2012, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, CONNERSMITH, Washington DC. 2012, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Alan Cristea Gallery, London.

Gruppenausstellungen
2020 God in reverse: When wisdom defies capture, The Richmond Art Galery, Richmond BC (CA). Spaces of no control, Austrian Cultural Forum, New York, NY. 2018 History in the Making, Alan Cristea Gallery, London. City Fabrics, ARCC, Wien. Queer, Kunstforum Montafon, Schruns (AT). 2017 Publishing as an artistic toolbox, Kunsthalle Wien. This is the sea, Big Mak / artmonte-carlo salon d’art, Monaco.

Ausbildung
1991–92 Abschluss in Bildenden Künsten, Hunter College, New York, NY.
1986–90 School of Visual Arts, New York, NY.
1982–86 MCPS Art Center, Maryland (US).

Lehrtätigkeit
2011–12 Expanded Pictorial Space, Gastprofessur, Akademie der bildenden Künste, Wien
2002 Advanced Painting, Grundstudienkurs, Cooper Union, New York, NY.
2001 Painting II, Columbia University, Grundstudienkurs, New York, NY.
2000 Visiting Artist, Temple University Tyler School of Art, Philadelphia, PA (US).
2000 Painting II, Maryland Institute, College of Art, Baltimore (US).
1999 Advanced Painting, Cooper Union, Grundstudienkurs, New York, NY.
1999 Visiting Artist, New York University, Absolventenkurs, New York, NY.
1998 Visiting Artist, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA (US).

http://theruyter.com/
SUMMERACADEMY.AT19/07–28/08/21

EDUCATION / RESEARCH / ARCHIVE / CYBERSPACE / SPATIAL
PRACTICE / HISTORY / COMMUNITY / CREATIVITY / GAME