Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Cäcilia Brown/Anna Hofbauer/Mikkel Holm Torp

Minerals and overalls
26 July–22 August 2020

Stone sculpture course 2019
Course at Untersberg quarry, 2019, photo: Mira Turba


Media
Works with stone, steel, drawing, photography, video, all media welcome

Location
Untersberg quarry

Teaching language
English (the teachers also speak German, Danish, French and Italian)

What to bring
Weatherproof clothing, safety goggles and work gloves, earmuffs, dust mask, stout work shoes (if possible with steel toe-caps), sunscreen, swimsuit, tools and material for your desired technique. Basic stone tools are provided.

Requirements
Previous experience in stone sculpting is welcome but not required.

Maximum number of participants
12

Participation fee
€ 1,240.– (€ 920.–)

As opposed to biological life, minerals are often seen as something dead – yet they interact with us in numerous ways. The Untersberg quarry lies as a cavity in the green Untersberg mountainside, where stone has formed the life of humans for centuries, as humans have engaged with the shaping of stone. It offers ideal conditions for different approaches to the material as well as to the landscape of stone production.

Awareness of the relation of exchange between material and place and place and individuals is explored with stone as a point of departure, understood as an artistic material itself alongside or in relation to other materials and media.

In this course, participants and the teaching artists live and work for four weeks directly on site. In the atmosphere of a symposium exchange and individual work progress is valued equally. We will discuss emerging questions on shape, surface, forms of language, expression and intention.

Participants can learn or refine technical skills in the treatment of stone, explore the possibilities and limitations of working in limestone and get to know the light, colour and textural qualities of this specific material or work site-specically in other media.

Helping each other, discussing ideas, maybe developing a collective practice or working individually as well as preparing food and maintaining everyday life in the quarry are common ground – there will be core working hours which can be freely adjusted depending on the project.

Students in this course generally live and work in the former workers' houses on site. Everyday life in the quarry (cooking, cleaning, etc.) is organised by the students themselves. From Saturday evening, 25 July, simple dormitory accommodation is available in the quarry grounds for € 7.- per night. An invoice will be issued in advance.
Cäcilia Brown, born in Sens (FR) in 1983, focuses with her sculptures on public space. Her latest works use roof beams and other material from demolished buildings, in allusion to socio-economics of urban life and increasing commercialisation of the property market. She lives and works in Vienna.

Solo exhibitions (recent)
2018 Es gibt Ecken, aus denen kommt man nicht mehr raus, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Vienna. 2017 Spuren der Zeit, Leopold Museum, Vienna. Luxusprobleme, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Vienna. Normalities, Austrian Cultural Forum, New York, NY (US).

Group exhibitions (recent)
2019 Brown, Meier, Raff, Nicolas Krupp Contemporary Art, Basel (CH). Über das Neue. Junge Szenen in Wien, Belvedere 21, Vienna. 2018 Susi klebt sich in die Ecke und schreibt Biedermeier an die Wand, Belvedere 21, Vienna. Women of the Town, Laura Mars Gallery, Berlin. Performance – Körper als Kontinuum in der Kunst, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Vienna. Space for Kids. WeltTraumStadt, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna.

www.caeciliabrown.net

Anna Hofbauer works between sculpture and photography, often based on structures borrowed from narrative forms such as novels, diaries, myths, essays or screenplays. She has participated in exhibitions and sculpture workshops in Europe and Asia and performs slideshow presentations that link depictions of sculptures and landscapes with historic and ongoing narrations of sculpture and society. She is a co-founder of the non-commercial exhibition space BLACKBRIDGE OFF, Beijing, where she curated group shows and film programmes from 2010 until 2015.

Solo exhibitions (recent)
2018 BOSCH & HOFBAUER. Anna Hofbauer: Drucke, Paintings Gallery of the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna. 2017 mein Vulkan bricht nur für dich nicht aus Anna Hofbauer, FOX, Vienna. 2016 GHOSTS look somewhat different 2016, A307, Vienna. terracotta conflisi, Galerija 42°, Cetinje (ME).

Group exhibitions (recent)
2019 Al fresco, V.esch, Kaltenleutgeben (AT). TWO MEN STANDING. Part 2, Out of Sight, Antwerp (BE). #oblaka. Dave’s house, Detroit, MI (US). 2018 Newjörg Immendorf, New Jörg, Düsseldorf (DE). Shifting Point(s), periscope, Salzburg (AT). Mittelbau, Skulpturinstitut, Vienna.

Publikationen
Anna Hofbauer, Bianca Regl (ed.): BLACKBRIDGE OFF, Verlag für Moderne Kunst, Vienna 2018.

www.annahofbauer.com

Mikkel Holm Torp, born in Frederiksberg (DK) in 1987, lives and works in Copenhagen and Carrara (IT). After serving his stonemason apprenticeship in Copenhagen he studied at the Accademia di Belle Arti di Carrara. Based on the historical relationship between narrative and stone, his work focuses on how the solidification of the past becomes visible in the creation of personal fictions.

www.mikkelholmtorp.com
Portrait photos Cäcilia Brown, Anna Hofbauer, Mikkel Holm Tort
Portrait photo Brown: Mischa Leinkauf
Portrait photo Hofbauer: Dominik Hruza
Portrait photo Torp: Claus Torp

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Cäcilia Brown/Anna Hofbauer/Mikkel Holm Torp

Minerals and Overalls
26. Juli–22. August 2020

Steinbildhauerklasse 2019
Kurs im Steinbruch Untersberg, 2019, Foto: Mira Turba


Medien
Arbeiten mit Stein, Stahl, Zeichnung, Fotografie, Video, alle Medien willkommen

Ort
Steinbruch Untersberg

Unterrichtssprache
Englisch (die Lehrenden sprechen auch Deutsch, Dänisch, Französisch und Italienisch)

Mitzubringen sind
Wetterfeste Kleidung, Schutzbrille und Arbeitshandschuhe, Ohrenschützer, Staubmaske, feste Arbeitsschuhe (möglichst mit Stahlkappe), Sonnencreme, Badekleidung, Werkzeuge und Material für die jeweilige bevorzugte Technik. Grundlegende Steinwerkzeuge werden zur Verfügung gestellt.

Voraussetzungen
Vorkenntnisse im Bereich Steinbildhauerei sind willkommen, aber keine Voraussetzung.

Maximale Anzahl von Teilnehmenden
12

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 1.240,– (€ 920,–)

Mineralien werden im Gegensatz zu biologischem Leben oft als etwas Totes angesehen – und dennoch interagieren sie auf vielfältige Weise mit uns. Der Steinbruch Untersberg klafft als Lücke an den grünen Abhängen des Untersbergs, wo Stein seit Jahrhunderten das Leben des Menschen und dieser den Stein formt. Der Steinbruch bietet ideale Bedingungen für unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen an das Material sowie an die Landschaft der Steinproduktion.

Das Bewusstsein für die Wechselbeziehung zwischen Material und Ort sowie Ort und Individuen wird erforscht, wobei Stein den Ausgangspunkt bildet. Dieser wird als künstlerisches Material an sich oder in Beziehung zu anderen Materialen oder Medien verstanden.

Im Rahmen dieses Kurses leben und arbeiten die Teilnehmenden und die unterrichtenden KünstlerInnen vier Wochen lang direkt vor Ort. In der Atmosphäre eines Symposiums wird gleichermaßen auf Austausch und individuellen Arbeitsfortschritt Wert gelegt. Wir werden Fragen diskutieren, die sich zu den Themen Gestalt, Oberfläche, Sprache, Ausdrucksformen und Intention ergeben. Die Teilnehmenden können Techniken der Steinbearbeitung erlernen oder verfeinern, die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von Kalkstein erforschen und die Licht-, Farb- und Textureigenschaften dieses speziellen Materials kennenlernen.

Gegenseitige Hilfe, das Diskutieren von Ideen, möglicherweise die Entwicklung einer kollaborativen Arbeitspraxis bzw. Einzelarbeit sowie die Zubereitung von Speisen und das Bestreiten des Alltags im Steinbruch bilden eine gemeinschaftliche Basis. Es wird Kernarbeitszeiten geben, die je nach Projekt frei angepasst werden können.

Die Studierenden dieses Kurses wohnen und arbeiten in der Regel in den alten ArbeiterInnenhäusern vor Ort. Der Alltag im Steinbruch (kochen, putzen usw.) wird von den Teilnehmenden selbst organisiert. Ab dem Abend des Samstag, 25. Juli, wird für € 7,– pro Nacht eine einfache Unterbringungsmöglichkeit in einem Schlafsaal auf dem Gelände des Steinbruchs angeboten. Der Betrag wird im Vorhinein in Rechnung gestellt.
Cäcilia Brown, 1983 in Sens (FR) geboren, beschäftigt sich in ihren Skulpturen mit dem öffentlichen Raum. In Anspielung auf die Sozioökonomie urbanen Lebens und wachsender Kommerzialisierung des Wohnungsmarktes sind Dachbalken und andere Materialien aus Abrisshäusern das Ausgangsmaterial für Browns jüngste Arbeiten.

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl)
2018 Es gibt Ecken, aus denen kommt man nicht mehr raus, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Wien. 2017 Spuren der Zeit, Leopold Museum, Wien. Luxusprobleme, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Wien. Normalities, Austrian Cultural Forum, New York, NY (US).

Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl)
2019 Brown, Meier, Raff, Nicolas Krupp Contemporary Art, Basel (CH). Über das Neue. Junge Szenen in Wien, Belvedere 21, Wien. 2018 Susi klebt sich in die Ecke und schreibt Biedermeier an die Wand, Belvedere 21, Wien. Women of the Town, Laura Mars Gallery, Berlin. Performance – Körper als Kontinuum in der Kunst, Gabriele Senn Galerie, Wien. Space for Kids. WeltTraumStadt, Kunsthalle Wien, Wien.

www.caeciliabrown.net

Anna Hofbauer bewegt sich zwischen Bildhauerei und Fotografie. Oft ist die Struktur ihrer Arbeiten an Erzählformen wie Romane, Tagebücher, Mythen, Essays oder Drehbücher angelehnt. Sie hat an Ausstellungen und Bildhauereiworkshops in Europa und Asien teilgenommen und hält Diashows, welche die Darstellung von Skulpturen und Landschaften mit historischen und laufenden Narrativen von Bildhauerei und Gesellschaft verbinden. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des nichtkommerziellen Ausstellungsraumes BLACKBRIDGE OFF in Peking, wo sie von 2010 bis 2015 Gruppenausstellungen und Filmprogramme kuratierte.

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl)
2018 BOSCH & HOFBAUER. Anna Hofbauer: Drucke. Gemäldegalerie der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, Wien. 2017 mein Vulkan bricht nur für dich nicht aus Anna Hofbauer, FOX, Wien. 2016 GHOSTS look somewhat different 2016, A307, Wien. terracotta conflisi. Galerija 42°, Cetinje (ME).

Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl)
2019 Al fresco, V.esch, Kaltenleutgeben (AT). TWO MEN STANDING. Part 2, Out of Sight, Antwerpen (BE). #oblaka. Dave’s house, Detroit, MI (US). 2018 Newjörg Immendorf, New Jörg, Düsseldorf (DE). Shifting Point(s), periscope, Salzburg (AT). Mittelbau, Skulpturinstitut, Wien.

Publikationen
Anna Hofbauer, Bianca Regl (Hg.): BLACKBRIDGE OFF , Verlag für Moderne Kunst, Wien 2018.

www.annahofbauer.com

Mikkel Holm Torp, geboren 1987 in Frederiksberg (DK), lebt und arbeitet in Kopenhagen und Carrara (IT). Nach seiner Lehre als Steinmetz studierte er an der Accademia di Belle Arti di Carrara. Ausgehend von der historischen Beziehung zwischen Narrativ und Stein konzentriert sich sein Werk darauf, wie die Verfestigung der Vergangenheit in der Entstehung persönlicher Fiktionen sichtbar wird.

www.mikkelholmtorp.com
Portraitfotos Cäcilia Brown, Anna Hofbauer, Mikkel Holm Tort
Portraitfoto Brown: Mischa Leinkauf
Portraitfoto Hofbauer: Dominik Hruza
Portraitfoto Torp: Claus Torp