Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Karin Reichmuth

Listen to the stone
28 July–24 August 2019

Karin Reichmuth, dressed in marble
Dressed in marble, 2015, carrara marble,
photo: Karin Reichmuth


SOLD OUT!

Medium
Stone sculpture

Location
Kiefer quarry, Fürstenbrunn

Teaching language
English (teacher also speaks German and Italian, co-teachers also speak Arabic and Danish)

What to bring
Weatherproof clothing, head covering, protective goggles and gloves, earmuffs, dust mask, stout work shoes (with steel toe-caps), concept, sketches or models, good spatial imagination, pleasure in physical work

Requirements
Interest in working with stone; experience in stone sculpture welcome but not essential

Maximum number of participants
12

Co-teachers
Mikkel Holm Torp, Sherine Anis

Participation fee
€ 1,200.– (€ 880.–)

The Untersberg quarry, which for centuries has provided the so-called “Untersberg marble” (in fact a limestone), offers ideal conditions for different approaches to the material, in order to enable students to find their own style. Living and working on site for four weeks, they will form an idea of the dimensions and processes involved in quarrying and working stone – in both past and present.

We will get to know the possibilities and limitations of working with limestone, and explore the light, colour and texture of this hard, heavy medium. We will also experiment with various ways of handling the stone, and hone existing skills, as well as finding out what forms this stone will allow. Besides the manual technique, the focus will be on the process of making artistic decisions. How can a contemporary question be combined with sculpture? Spatial imagination and manual skill open up a dimension of self-awareness that coincides directly with sculpture.

Students in this course generally live and work in the former workers’ houses on site. Everyday life in the quarry (cooking, cleaning, etc.) is organised by the students themselves. From Saturday evening 27 July 2019, simple dormitory accommodation is available in the quarry grounds for € 7.– per night. An invoice will be issued in advance.

 
Karin Reichmuth, born in Uznach (CH) in 1979, lives and works in Goldingen (CH) and Carrara (IT). After serving a stonemason’s apprenticeship in Winterthur (CH) and Rüti (CH), she studied at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts, spending a study period abroad at the Lístaháskoli in Reykjavík. She subsequently had a residency in the Skaftfell Center for Visual Art, Seyoisfjörour (IS), a grant from the Cultural Office of the canton St. Gallen for a study period in Rome and further working periods in Reykjavík und Carrara.

Karin Reichmuth’s work focuses mainly on situations arising from a change of location. Thus points of intersection between laws of physics, energetically charged states and everyday events become the object of her work. Tension with an original state is generated, and apparent dichotomies are resolved: the move is concluded through the process-oriented work on the stone. The result is a sculpture.

Exhibitions and projects
2018 Kunstspinnerei18, Uznach (CH). 2017 V Simposio Internazionale di scultura a mano, Piazza Duomo, Carrara. 2016 Grosse Regionale, Alte Fabrik, Rapperswil (CH). Me, Nextex, St. Gallen (CH). Just a perfect day, Park and gallery of Weierthal spa, Winterthur. Spazio 1929, Lugano (CH). Art in public space, Sundahöfn harbour, Reykjavík.
Karin Reichmuth
Portrait photo: Angela Simi

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Karin Reichmuth

Listen to the stone
28. Juli–24. August 2019

Kiefer Steinbruch, Fürstenbrunn,
Karin Reichmuth, In Marmor gekleidet
In Marmor gekleidet, 2015, Carrara Marmor, Foto: Karin Reichmuth


AUSGEBUCHT!

Medium
Steinbildhauerei


Ort
Kiefer Steinbruch, Fürstenbrunn

Unterrichtssprache
Englisch (die Lehrende spricht auch Deutsch und Italienisch. Co-Lehrenden sprechen auch Arabisch und Dänisch)

Mitzubringen sind
Wetterfeste Kleidung, Kopfbedeckung, Schutzbrillen und Handschuhe, Gehörschutz, Staubmaske, gute Arbeitsschuhe (mit Stahlkappen), Konzept, Skizzen oder Modelle, ein gutes Vorstellungsvermögen, Freude am physischen Arbeiten

Voraussetzungen
Interesse am Arbeiten mit Stein; Erfahrung mit Steinbildhauerei ist willkommen, aber kein Muss

Maximale Anzahl der Teilnehmenden
12

Co-Lehrende
Mikkel Holm Torp, Sherine Anis

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 1.200,– (€ 880,–)

Der Steinbruch am Untersberg, in dem seit Jahrhunderten der sogenannte „Untersberger Marmor“ (tatsächlich ein Kalkstein) abgebaut wird, bietet den Studierenden ideale Voraussetzungen für verschiedene mögliche Annäherungen, um zu ihrer eigenen Form zu finden. Die Teilnehmenden werden vier Wochen lang vor Ort wohnen und arbeiten und auf diese Weise eine Vorstellung von den Dimensionen und Abläufen der Steingewinnung und Verarbeitung – in Vergangenheit wie Gegenwart – bekommen.

Wir werden die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen des Arbeitens mit Kalkstein kennenlernen und Licht, Farbe sowie Textur dieses harten und schweren Mediums erkunden. Außerdem werden wir mit verschiedenen Bearbeitungsformen experimentieren und vorhandene Fähigkeiten verfeinern. Wir werden auch herausfinden, welche Formen dieser Stein zulässt. Nebst der handwerklichen Technik geht es im Kurs vor allem um den Prozess, wie künstlerische Entscheidungen getroffen werden. Wie kann eine zeitgenössische Fragestellung mit der skulpturalen Arbeit zusammenkommen? Mit der räumlichen Vorstellungskraft und der handwerklichen Technik eröffnet sich eine Dimension der Selbsterkenntnis, welche mit der Skulptur unmittelbar zusammentrifft.

Die Studierenden dieses Kurses wohnen und arbeiten in der Regel in den alten Arbeiterhäusern vor Ort. Der Alltag im Steinbruch (mit Kochen, Putzen usw.) wird von den Studierenden selbst organisiert. Ab Samstagabend, den 27. Juli 2019, sind im Steinbruch einfache Schlafsaalplätze für € 7,- pro Nacht verfügbar. Der Betrag wird im Vorhinein in Rechnung gestellt.
Karin Reichmuth, 1979 in Uznach (CH) geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Goldingen (CH) und Carrara (IT). Nach einer Lehre als Steinmetzin in Winterthur (CH) und Rüti (CH), absolvierte sie ihr Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien mit Auslandsaufenthalt an der Lístaháskoli Reykjavík. Es folgte eine Residency im Skaftfell Center for Visual Art, Seyðisfjörður (IS), ein Stipendium vom Amt für Kultur des Kantons St. Gallen für einen Rom-Aufenthalt und weitere Arbeitsaufenthalte in Reykjavík und Carrara.

Im künstlerischen Schaffen von Karin Reichmuth geht es vorwiegend um Situationen, welche sich durch Ortswechsel ergeben. Schnittstellen zwischen physischen Gesetzen, energetisch aufgeladenen Zuständen und alltäglichen Ereignissen werden so zum Gegenstand ihrer Arbeit. Die Spannung zu einem ursprünglichen Zustand entsteht und scheinbare Gegensätzlichkeiten lösen sich auf: Die Bewegung wird durch die prozessorientierte Arbeit am Stein abgeschlossen. Es bleibt eine Skulptur zurück.

Ausstellungen und Projekte
2018 Kunstspinnerei18, Uznach. 2017 V Simposio Internazionale di scultura a mano, Piazza Duomo, Carrara. 2016 Grosse Regionale, Alte Fabrik, Rapperswil (CH). Me, Nextex, St. Gallen (CH). Just a perfect day, Park und Galerie des Kulturortes Weierthal, Winterthur. Spazio 1929, Lugano (CH). Kunst im öffentlichen Raum im Hafen Sundahöfn, Reykjavík.
Karin Reichmuth
Porträtfoto: Angela Simi