Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

SABINE B. VOGEL

Art in the blog
20–25 August 2018

Blogger class room, 2017
photo: Mira Turba


Medium
Blog

Location
Hohensalzburg Fortress


Languages
German, English


What to bring
Laptop, smartphone, possibly camera


Requirements
Good computer skills; basic knowledge of social media (e.g. Facebook) is an advantage


Maximum number of participants
15


Co-teacher
Julia Wegmayr

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 450,– (€ 370,–)


If the diary was once the preferred method of recording, today blogs can achieve far more. In museums, they can serve for in-depth art education, in galleries they can package information as a marketing tool. For freelance writers or art-lovers in general, a blog is the perfect instrument for sharing impressions of exhibitions, art trips or conversations, in the form of an online magazine or simply as a journal.

Nowadays, blogs are increasingly used as journals, because they enable quicker and more independent reporting. For the visual arts in particular, this medium is ideal, since there is no limit to the number of images they contain. But how to begin, how to protect a name, how to bring a blog to public notice? We will discuss not only the creation and improvement of your own blog, but also its publication in social media and search-engine optimisation (SEO). As professional art critics with blogging expertise, we will deal with the best way to write a blog about art, and visit selected exhibitions in Salzburg. At the end of the course, participants will have the necessary skills to build and run their own blogs.
Since studying Art History at the Ruhr University in Bochum, Sabine B. Vogel has worked as a freelance art critic. She gained a doctorate at the Vienna University of Applied Arts with a thesis entitled Biennalen – Kunst im Weltformat. She has held a post as lecturer at the Vienna University of Applied Arts since 2003, and has been president of the AICA AUSTRIA (International Association of Art Critics) since 2008. She writes for Kunstforum, NZZ and Die Presse. Since 1996 she has run independent weblogs, the most recent being www.kunstundbücher.at for book reviews, and since 2012 has posted picture series, exhibition reviews, news and
interviews under sabinebvogel.at.

Sabine B. Vogel
www.sabinebvogel.at

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

SABINE B. VOGEL


Kunst im Blog
20.–25. August 2018

Festung Hohensalzburg
Einblick in den Klassenraum der Bloggerklasse von Sabine B. Vogel und Sabrina Steinek, 2017
Foto: Mira Turba


Medium
Blog

Ort
Festung Hohensalzburg

Sprachen
Deutsch, Englisch

Mitzubringen sind
Laptop, Smartphone, evtl. Kamera

Voraussetzungen
Gute Computerkenntnisse sind Voraussetzung, darüber hinaus sind Grundkenntnisse von Sozialen Medien (z. B. Facebook) von Vorteil

Maximale Anzahl der Teilnehmenden
15

Co-Lehrende
Julia Wegmayr

Teilnahmegebühr
€ 450,– (€ 370,–)

War es anfangs vor allem ein Tagebuch, können Blogs heute weit mehr leisten. In Museen können sie als vertiefendes Instrument der Kunstvermittlung eingesetzt werden, in Galerien als Marketingtool Informationen bündeln. Auch für freie AutorInnen oder kunstaffines Publikum ist es ein perfekter Weg, Eindrücke von Ausstellungsbesuchen, Kunstreisen und Kunstgesprächen in Form eines online-Magazins oder als Tageseindrücke zu teilen.

Blogs dienen heute zunehmend als Journal, weil darin schnell und unabhängig berichtet werden kann. Gerade für die bildende Kunst eignet sich dieses Medium perfekt, da der Menge an Bildern kein Limit gesetzt ist. Aber wie beginnt man, wie sichert man sich den Namen, wie macht man einen Blog bekannt? Neben der Erstellung bzw. Optimierung des eigenen Blogs werden die Verbreitung in den Sozialen Medien und Suchmaschinen-Optimierung (SEO-Maßnahmen) diskutiert. Als professionelle KunstkritikerInnen mit Expertise im Bloggen werden wir uns in diesem Kurs unter anderem damit beschäftigen, wie man in einem Blog über Kunst schreibt. Dazu werden wir ausgewählte Ausstellungen in Salzburg besuchen. Am Ende des Kurses werden die Teilnehmenden die Fähigkeit haben, einen eigenen Blog aufzubauen und zu führen.
Seit dem Kunstgeschichtsstudium an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum ist Sabine B. Vogel freie Kunstkritikerin. Ihre Promotion schrieb sie an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien über Biennalen – Kunst im Weltformat. Seit 2003 ist sie Lektorin an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, seit 2008 Präsidentin der KunstkritikerInnenvereinigung AICA AUSTRIA. Sie schreibt für Kunstforum, NZZ, Die Presse. Seit 1996 führt sie unabhängige Weblogs, zunächst www.kunstundbücher.at für Buchrezensionen, seit 2012 unter sabinebvogel.at für Bildreihen, Ausstellungsberichte, news, Interviews.

Sabine B. Vogel
www.sabinebvogel.at