Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

TILL MEGERLE

High/low: figurative drawing today
13–25 August 2018

Work Till Megerle, High - Low, 2016
Untitled, 2016, ink and pencil on paper, 21 × 14.8 cm, courtesy of the artist and Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen


SOLD OUT!

Medium
Drawing


Location
Hohensalzburg Fortress


Languages
German, English


What to bring
Your preferred drawing implements and paper. Further materials can be purchased in the Academy shop. Possibly a photo camera (mobile camera is enough).


Requirements
None


Maximum number of participants
20


Co-teacher
Michael Franz


Teilnahmegebühr
€ 700,– (€ 540,–)


This course is devoted to figurative drawing. We will observe the human form and explore how the body can be depicted as the scene of social and political configurations. We will examine what kind of form can be found for doing this today, and why drawing in particular assumes an interesting role here.

By means of various exercises with models, anatomical studies, drawing from memory or from illustrations, exaggeration and simplification, we will acquire a great many resources for representation and methods of form-finding. In addition, we will experiment with pictorial spaces that deviate from our central-perspective habits of seeing.

Besides the practical work, we will look at drawing over several centuries, and see how artists ranging from Pieter Bruegel to Lee Lozano have depicted the body as a semantic vehicle. It becomes clear how, specifically in drawing, hierarchical evaluations between “high” art and “low” forms of artistic expression have been subverted. Mike Kelley’s essay Foul Perfection: Notes on Caricature serves as the starting-point for an alternative narrative of 20th- and 21st-century art, to which artists drawing both figuratively and narratively have made many inspiring contributions.
Till Megerle, born in Bayreuth (DE) in 1979, lives in Vienna and Berlin. He studied at the Leipzig Academy of Visual Arts (DE) and the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. His drawings, photographs and videos deal with topics such as body images, pop culture and history.

Solo exhibitions
2017 The Thug Silhouette, Kunstbunker Nuremberg (DE). Supreme, Christian Andersen, Copenhagen. 2016 Till Megerle, San Felice, San Felice (IT). 2015 Donkeys, 21er Haus, Vienna. Baireuth, Kunstverein Freiburg, Freiburg (DE). 2014 Till Megerle, Studio 2o46, Berlin. HALLUX, Christian Andersen, Copenhagen. 2013 Till Megerle, Diana Lambert, Vienna.

Group exhibitions
2017 Spiegelnde Fenster, 21er Haus, Vienna. 35. Österreichischer Grafikwettbewerb, Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (AT). Drawing Biennial 2017, Drawing Room, London. 2016 Formen des Auswurfs, Galerie der Stadt Schwaz, Schwaz (AT). Work on Paper, William Arnold, New York, NY (US). 48 Drawings, Spike, Berlin. 2015 Bilder der Vergangenheit (with Michael Franz), Nousmoules, Vienna. 2014 Don't you feel me, Micky Schubert, Berlin.

Publications
Anke Dyes: "Till Megerle at Christian Andersen", in: MAY, 18, 2017.
"Till Megerle: Three Presidents", in: Texte zur Kunst, 104, 2016.
"Till Megerle: Baireuth", in: Camera Austria, 130, 2016.
Max Henry: "Till Megerle", in: Spike Art Quarterly, 46, 2015/16.
Till Megerle: Dominik Sittig: INVOLTE, Textem Verlag, Hamburg 2013.
Marc Prince, "Till Megerle", in: Frieze, 150, October 2012.

Camera/cinematography
Rap, 2017, directed by Steffen Martin, Till Megerle
Feast, 2017, directed by Yulia Lokshina
2 A.M., 2016, directed by Loretta Fahrenholz
Group Admits Mistake, 2016, directed by Michael Franz
My Throat, My Air, 2013, directed by Loretta Fahrenholz
Ditch Plains, 2013, directed by Loretta Fahrenholz

 
Portrait photo Till Megerle

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

TILL MEGERLE


High/Low: Figuratives Zeichnen Heute
13.–25. August 2018

Kiefer Steinbruch, Fürstenbrunn,
Werk Till Megerle
Ohne Titel, 2016, Tusche und Bleistift auf Papier, 21 × 14,8 cm, Courtesy of the artist und Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen


AUSGEBUCHT!

Medium
Zeichnung

Ort
Festung Hohensalzburg


Sprachen
Deutsch, Englisch


Mitzubringen sind
bevorzugte Zeichenstifte und -papiere. Weitere Materialien können im Akademieshop erworben werden. Gegebenenfalls Fotokamera (Handykamera genügt).


Voraussetzungen
Keine


Maximale Anzahl der Teilnehmenden
20


Co-Lehrender
Michael Franz


Teilnahmegebühr
€ 700,– (€ 540,–)


Dieser Kurs widmet sich dem figurativen Zeichnen. Wir betrachten die menschliche Gestalt und erkunden, wie der Körper als Austragungsort gesellschaftlicher und politischer Konstellationen ins Bild gesetzt werden kann. Wir werden untersuchen, welche Formen sich heute dafür finden lassen und warum dabei gerade der Zeichnung eine interessante Rolle zukommt.

Anhand verschiedener Übungen mit Modellen, anatomischen Studien, Zeichnen aus dem Gedächtnis und nach Abbildungen sowie durch Übertreibungen oder Vereinfachungen eignen wir uns eine Vielzahl an Darstellungsmöglichkeiten und Formfindungsmethoden an. Zudem experimentieren wir in den Zeichnungen mit Bildräumen, die von unseren zentralperspektivischen Sehgewohnheiten abweichen.

Wir beschäftigen uns neben dem praktischen Arbeiten mit Zeichnungen aus mehreren Jahrhunderten und sehen dabei, auf welch unterschiedliche Weise KünstlerInnen von Pieter Bruegel bis Lee Lozano Körper als Bedeutungsträger verbildlicht haben und verbildlichen. Dabei soll deutlich werden, wie gerade in der Zeichnung hierarchische Wertungen zwischen „hoher“ Kunst und „niederen“ Formen künstlerischen Ausdrucks unterwandert worden sind. Mike Kelleys Essay Foul Perfection: Notes on Caricature dient hier als Ausgangspunkt für eine alternative Erzählung der Kunst im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert, zu der figurativ-narrativ arbeitende ZeichnerInnen immer wieder inspirierende Beiträge geleistet haben.
Till Megerle, 1979 in Bayreuth (DE) geboren, lebt in Wien und Berlin. Er studierte an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig und der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. In seinen Zeichnungen, Fotografien und Videos beschäftigt er sich unter anderem mit Körperbildern, Popkultur und Geschichte.

Einzelausstellungen
2017 The Thug Silhouette, Kunstbunker Nürnberg (DE). Supreme, Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen. 2016 Till Megerle, San Felice, San Felice (IT). 2015 Donkeys, 21er Haus, Wien. Baireuth, Kunstverein Freiburg, Freiburg (DE). 2014 Till Megerle, Studio 2o46, Berlin. HALLUX, Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen. 2013 Till Megerle, Diana Lambert, Wien.

Gruppenausstellungen
2017 Spiegelnde Fenster, 21er Haus, Wien. 35. Österreichischer Grafikwettbewerb, Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (AT). Drawing Biennial 2017, Drawing Room, London. 2016 Formen des Auswurfs, Galerie der Stadt Schwaz, Schwaz (AT). Work on Paper, William Arnold, New York, NY (US). 48 Drawings, Spike, Berlin. 2015 Bilder der Vergangenheit (mit Michael Franz), Nousmoules, Wien. 2014 Don't you feel me, Micky Schubert, Berlin.

Publikationen
Anke Dyes: „Till Megerle at Christian Andersen“, in: MAY, 18, 2017.
„Till Megerle: Three Presidents“, in: Texte zur Kunst, 104, 2016.
„Till Megerle: Baireuth“, in: Camera Austria, 130, 2016.
Max Henry: „Till Megerle“, in: Spike Art Quarterly, 46, 2015/16.
Till Megerle, Dominik Sittig: INVOLTE, Textem Verlag, Hamburg 2013.
Marc Prince: „Till Megerle“, in: Frieze, 150, Oktober 2012.

Kamera/Kinematographie
Rap, 2017, Regie: Steffen Martin, Till Megerle.
Feast, 2017, Regie: Yulia Lokshina.
2 A.M., 2016, Regie: Loretta Fahrenholz.
Group Admits Mistake, 2016, Regie: Michael Franz.
My Throat, My Air, 2013, Regie: Loretta Fahrenholz.
Ditch Plains, 2013, Regie: Loretta Fahrenholz.

 
Fotoporträt Till Megerle