Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

EMEKA OKEREKE

Exploring a void: on in-between spaces and differences
19 July 2018 / 7 pm

The Fire Assembly, Emeka Okereke, 2015
The Fire Assembly, from the series: Exploring a Void, 2015


Drawing from personal experiences accumulated from over a decade of constant negotiation of borders, and using his personal works and experiences from the Invisible Borders Trans-African Project as cues, Emeka Okereke will speak about borders and the interstitial spaces in them. Specifically, his contribution will focus on the role of the body as a denominator, an object of useful agitation, or an active-thinking entity – imbued with intuition, memory, history, language, appearance, and not least, inscribed violence – in the negotiation, or better still, disruption of notions of space, time and imposed cartographies. Furthermore, he will touch on, and draw analogies from, positions by such compelling thinkers as Frantz Fanon, T.J. Demos, Achille Mbembe, bell hooks, Walter D. Mignolo, Édouard Glissant, Homi K. Bhabha, John Berger and Chinua Achebe in discussing this “in-between space” as a site for the posisble exploration and nurturing of new forms of knowledge, new thought-logics, new ways of being that take “epistemic disobedience” and “de-colonial options” as underlying concepts. The overarching aim is to encourage conversations about differences in a world of rising nationalist and populist sentiments that seek, at every turn, to fuel the reinforcement of borders while threatening the fluidity of human relations.

Nigerian visual artist and writer Emeka Okereke, born in 1980, lives and works in Lagos and Berlin, frequently moving between them. He came into contact with photography in 2001, and was a member of the renowned Nigerian photography collective, Depth of Field (DOF). He has a Bachelors/Masters degree from the National Fine Art School of Paris. His work currently oscillates among diverse media. He employs mainly photography, time-based medium of video, poetry and performative interventions in the exploration of the central theme of “borders”. His works grapple with questions of exchange and co-existence in the context of various socio-cultural confluences. He is the founder and artistic director of Invisible Borders: The Trans-African Project. In 2003, he won the Photographer Award of the AFAA “Afrique en Création” in the 5th edition of the Bamako Photo Festival of photography. His work was exhibited at the 56th Biennale di Venezia under the Invisible Borders space-installation: A Trans-African Worldspace, which he also curated. Emeka Okereke has been guest lecturer in several art platforms and learning institutions, the most recent being the MFA Photography of Hartford University, Connecticut, CT (US).

Exhibitions
2017 A Trans-African World Space, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris. A Trans-African Worldspace, Amsterdam Photography Museum (FOAM), Amsterdam. History ASAP, Kunstraum, Düsseldorf (DE). Collective Thinking, For Freedom, Aperture Foundation Gallery, New York, NY (US). 2016 No Borders, Gallery Dominique Fiat, Paris. Unseen Art Photo Fair, with Invisible Borders Trans-African Project, Amsterdam. 2015 All the Worlds Futures, 56th Biennale di Venezia, Venice (IT). 2012 New Museum of New York, exhibition with Invisible Borders Trans-African Project, New York, NY. 2011 ATOPIA – Art and City in 21st Century, CCCB, Barcelona (ES).

Publications
Emeka Okereke: As We Recede, Musee Elysee Lausanne, Editions Photosynthèses, Arles, 2017.
Sean O’Toole: „Open Roads & Invisible Borders“, in: Aperture Magazine 222, Spring 2016.
Emeka Okereke: „Transcending Africa“ in: The Ungovernables, exh. cat., The New Museum, New York, 2012.
Emeka Okereke: Unspoken Hero, Afriphoto/Filigranes Édition, Paris 2007.

www.emekaokereke.com

 
Portrait photo Emeka Okereke
Portrait photo: Ayotola

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

EMEKA OKEREKE

Eine Leere erforschen. Über Zwischenräume und Differenzen
19. Juli 2018 / 19 Uhr

Fotoarbeit von Emeka Okereke
The Fire Assembly, aus der Serie: Exploring a Void, 2015


Emeka Okereke spricht über Grenzen und die ihnen innewohnenden Zwischenräume. Dabei geht er von persönlichen, seit über einem Jahrzehnt gesammelten Erfahrungen in der Auslotung von Grenzen aus und greift auf eigene Werke und die Arbeit am Invisible Borders Trans-African Project zurück. Welche Rolle spielt der Körper, wenn man Raum- und Zeitbegriffe auslotet oder vielmehr sprengt oder sich mit aufgezwungenen Kartografien beschäftigt? Okereke stellt den Körper als von Intuition, Erinnerung, Geschichte, Sprache, Aussehen und nicht zuletzt Gewalt gezeichneten Träger sinnvoller Agitation oder aktiven Denkens infrage. Unter Bezug auf so faszinierende Denker wie Frantz Fanon, T.J. Demos, Achille Mbembe, bell hooks, Walter D. Mignolo, Édouard Glissant, Homi K. Bhabha, John Berger und Chinua Achebe erörtert er ferner, inwiefern sich dieser „Zwischenraum“ als Schauplatz einer möglichen Erkundung und Förderung neuer, auf „epistemischem Ungehorsam“ und „dekolonialen Optionen“ gründenden Wissensformen, Denklogiken und Seinsweisen eignet. Ziel ist, in einer Welt zunehmender Nationalismen und Populismen, die allerorten die Befestigung von Grenzen ankurbeln und das Fluide menschlicher Verhältnisse bedrohen, das Gespräch über Differenzen in Gang zu halten.
Emeka Okereke, geboren 1980, ist ein nigerianischer Bildkünstler und Autor, der zwischen Lagos und Berlin lebt und arbeitet. In Berührung mit Fotografie kam er 2001. Er war Mitglied des bekannten nigerianischen Fotokollektivs Depth of Field (DOF) und hat einen Bachelor/Masterabschluss von der École nationale supérieure de beaux-arts de Paris. Zur Zeit oszilliert sein Werk zwischen mehreren Medien. Er arbeitet vornehmlich mit Fotografie, aber auch dem zeitgebundenen Medium Video, Poesie und performativen Interventionen an seinem zentralen Thema „Grenzen“. Seine Arbeiten setzen sich mit Fragen des Austausches und der Koexistenz im Kontext verschiedener soziokultureller Verbindungen auseineander. Er ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter von Invisible Borders: The Trans-African Project. 2003 erhielt er den Prix Afrique en Création der AFAA auf den 5e Rencontres de Bamako, der größten afrikanischen Fotografiebiennale. Auf der 56. Biennale di Venezia waren seine Arbeiten im Rahmen der von ihm kuratierten Invisible-Borders-Installation A Trans-African Worldspace zu sehen. Emeka Okereke war als Gastdozent in verschiedenen Kunst- und Lehreinrichtungen tätig, zuletzt am MFA-Programm für Fotografie an der Hartford University in Connecticut, CT (US).

Ausstellungen
2017 A Trans-African World Space, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris. A Trans-African Worldspace, Amsterdam Photography Museum (FOAM), Amsterdam. History ASAP, Kunstraum, Düsseldorf (DE). Collective Thinking, For Freedom, Aperture Foundation Gallery, New York, NY (US). 2016 No Borders, Gallery Dominique Fiat, Paris. Unseen Art Photo Fair, mit dem Invisible Borders Trans-African Project, Amsterdam. 2015 All the Worlds Futures, 56. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig (IT). 2012 New Museum of New York, mit Invisible Borders Trans-African Project, New York, NY. 2011 ATOPIA – Art and City in 21st Century, CCCB, Barcelona (ES).

Publikationen
Emeka Okereke: As We Recede, Musee Elysee Lausanne, Editions Photosynthèses, Arles, 2017.
Sean O’Toole: „Open Roads & Invisible Borders“, in: Aperture Magazine 222, Spring 2016.
Emeka Okereke: „Transcending Africa“ in: The Ungovernables, Ausst.-Kat., The New Museum, New York, 2012.
Emeka Okereke: Unspoken Hero, Afriphoto/Filigranes Édition, Paris 2007.

www.emekaokereke.com
www.borderbeing.com

 
Porträtfoto von Emeka Okereke
Porträtfoto: Ayotola