Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair

Concrete occasions
7 August 2018 / 7 pm

exhibition view, 2016, Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair
Double Bind, exhibition view, 2016
Courtesy Ani Molnár Gallery, Budapest
Photo: Wolfgang Obermair


In her lecture, Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair will draw parallels between her graphic and her media art-works. She starts from the idea that socio-political conditions and ideologies are manifested in images, whether these are art-works or products of everyday life. Her works are an attempt to demonstrate these latent connections and to examine their formal content – often focusing on various aspects of Soviet and post-Soviet art and culture, as well as on a media-reflexive consideration of Modernism and Abstraction.

Her current works are appropriations from (art-) historical narratives, dealing with post-factual knowledge and the reinterpretation of visual symbols. In reduced drawings, collages and installations, she uses gestural elements and found materials, as well as structures created with precision tools. By means of political messages, using fade-in/fade-out effects, she creates complex pictorial systems which elude any specific attribution, ranging between semiotics and materiality.

Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, born in Moscow in 1980, has lived and worked in Vienna since 2004. In 2018 she received a state grant from the Austrian Federal Chancellery, in 2017 the prize from the provincial capital Innsbruck (AT) at the 35th Austrian Graphic Arts Competition and the Theodor Körner Sponsorship Award, in 2015 the Chimera Art Award in Budapest and in 2014 a one-year scholarship from the Pollock-Krasner Foundation, New York, NY (US). She works in a variety of media, though all her projects involve printing. Her themes are appropriation of historical narratives, dealing with post-factual knowledge, and interaction of form and ideology, often focusing on various aspects of Soviet and post-Soviet art and culture, but also on a mediareflexive consideration of Modernism and Abstraction.

Solo exhibitions
2018 Anschluss (with Hannes Zebedin), Ve.Sch kunstverein, Vienna. 2016 Double Bind, Ani Molnár Gallery, Budapest. 2015 Chimera Art Award, Chimera Project Gallery, Budapest. 2012 Sprechen Sie mit dem Fahrer, damit er nicht einschläft!, Galerie 5020, Salzburg (AT). us and them, Ve.Sch, Vienna.

Group exhibitions
2018 Re-Appropriating History, FLUC, Vienna. 2017 Genosse. Jude. Wir wollten nur das Paradies auf Erden, Jüdisches Museum, Vienna. 35. Österreichischer Grafikwettbewerb, Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck. 2017 Birobidzhan: an artistic study of the Russian Federation’s Jewish Autonomous Oblast, Birobidzhan Regional Philharmonic, Birobidzhan (RU). 35. Österreichischer Grafikwettbewerb, Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (AT). 2015 Beyond the Obvious – Contemporary Women Artists from CEE, Deák Erika Galéria, Budapest. Tales of Two Cities, Jewish Museum am Judenplatz, Vienna. 2014 Tales of Two Cities, Moscow Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow. [silence] – A Holocaust Exhibition, Ludwig Múzeum Budapest, Budapest. 2012 Critical Alliances, Croatian Association of Visual Artists (HDLU), Zagreb.

Publications
Patrick Urwyler (ed.): Award Winners Exhibition 2015, exh. cat., Chimera-Project Gallery, Budapest 2016.
Astrid Peterle (ed.): Tales of 2 Cities, exh. cat., Jewish Museum, Vienna 2015.
Katalin Timár (ed.): [silence] – A Holocaust Exhibition, exh. cat., Ludwig Múzeum Budapest, Budapest 2014.
Katharina Ritter, Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, Dietmar Steiner, Alexandra Wachter: Soviet Modernism 1955–1991. Unknown History, Park Books-Verlag, Zurich 2012.
Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, Wolfgang Obermair (ed.): The Great Moscow, that Never Was, schlebruegge.editor, Vienna 2008.

www.ekaterina-shapiro-obermair.org

 
Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair


Konkrete Anlässe
7. August 2018 / 19 Uhr

Galerie 5020, Residenzplatz 10,
Salzburg
Arbeiten von Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair
Double Bind, Ausstellungsansicht, 2016 Courtesy Ani Molnár Gallery, Budapest
Foto: Wolfgang Obermair


In ihrem Vortrag wird Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair einen Bogen zwischen ihren grafischen und medialen Arbeiten spannen. Die Künstlerin geht von der Vorstellung aus, dass sich gesellschaftspolitische Verhältnisse und Ideologien in Bildern manifestieren, seien es Kunstwerke oder vom Alltag erzeugte Bildprodukte. In ihren Arbeiten versucht sie diese latenten Zusammenhänge aufzuzeigen und auf ihren formalen Inhalt hin zu hinterfragen. Ihr Fokus liegt dabei oft auf verschiedenen Aspekten der sowjetischen und postsowjetischen Kunst und Kultur, aber auch auf einer medienreflexiven Auseinandersetzung mit Modernismus und Abstraktion.

Themen ihrer aktuellen Arbeiten sind Aneignungen von (kunst-)historischen Narrativen, das Hantieren mit postfaktischem Wissen sowie Umdeutungen von visuellen Symbolen. In reduzierten Zeichnungen, Collagen und Installationen setzt sie gestische Elemente oder gefundene Materialien genauso ein wie die mit Präzisionswerkzeug erzeugten Strukturen. Durch das Ein- und Ausblenden von politischen Botschaften schafft sie komplexe Bildsysteme, die sich einer eindeutigen Zuschreibung entziehen und sich zwischen Zeichenhaftigkeit und Materialität bewegen.
Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, 1980 in Moskau geboren, lebt und arbeitet seit 2004 in Wien. Sie erhielt 2018 das Staatsstipendium des Bundeskanzleramtes Österreich, 2017 den Preis der Landeshauptstadt Innsbruck im Rahmen des 35. Österreichischen Grafikwettbewerbs, den Theodor Körner Förderpreis, 2015 den Chimera Art Award in Budapest und 2014 ein Jahresstipendium der Pollock-Krasner Foundation, New York, NY (US). Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Medien, wobei ein Bezug zur Grafik in all ihren Projekten immanent ist. Themen ihrer Arbeiten sind Aneignungen von historischen Narrativen, das Hantieren mit postfaktischem Wissen sowie Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Form und Ideologie. Ihr Fokus liegt dabei oft auf verschiedenen Aspekten der sowjetischen und postsowjetischen Kunst und Kultur, aber auch auf einer medienreflexiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Modernismus und der Abstraktion.

Einzelausstellungen
2018 Anschluss (gemeinsam mit Hannes Zebedin), Ve.Sch kunstverein, Wien. 2016 Double Bind, Ani Molnár Gallery, Budapest. 2015 Chimera Art Award, Chimera Project Gallery, Budapest. 2012 Sprechen Sie mit dem Fahrer, damit er nicht einschläft!, Galerie 5020, Salzburg (AT). us and them, Ve.Sch, Wien.

Gruppenausstellungen
2018 Re-Appropriating History, FLUC, Wien. 2017 Genosse. Jude. Wir wollten nur das Paradies auf Erden, Jüdisches Museum Wien, Wien. 35. Österreichischer Grafikwettbewerb, Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (AT). 2015 Beyond the Obvious – Contemporary Women Artists from CEE, Deák Erika Galéria, Budapest. Tales of Two Cities, Jüdisches Museum am Judenplatz, Wien. 2014 Tales of Two Cities, Moskauer Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Moskau. [silence] – A Holocaust Exhibition, Ludwig Múzeum Budapest, Budapest. 2012 Critical Alliances, Croatian Association of Visual Artists (HDLU), Zagreb.

Publikationen
Patrick Urwyler (Hg.): Award Winners Exhibition 2015, Ausst.-Kat., Chimera-Project Gallery, Budapest 2016.
Astrid Peterle (Hg.): Tales of 2 Cities, Ausst.-Kat., Jewish Museum Vienna, Wien 2015.
Katalin Timár (Hg.): [silence] – A Holocaust Exhibition, Ausst.-Kat., Ludwig Múzeum Budapest, Budapest 2014.
Katharina Ritter, Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, Dietmar Steiner, Alexandra Wachter: Sowjetmoderne 1955–1991. Unbekannte Geschichten, Park Books-Verlag, Zürich 2012.
Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, Wolfgang Obermair (Hg.): Das große Moskau, das es niemals gab, schlebruegge.editor, Wien 2008.

www.ekaterina-shapiro-obermair.org

 
Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair
Porträtfoto: Vera Undritzova