Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Caroline Achaintre

Caroline Achaintre with Martin Herbert
31 July 2018 / 7 pm

Frank, 2013
Frank, 2013, ceramic
Courtesy of Arcade, London
Photo: Andy Keate


Caroline Achaintre works across a diverse range of media including textiles, ceramics, prints and watercolours, using techniques typically associated with the applied arts. Her work is colourful and potent, evoking the subversive spirit of carnival and creating an atmosphere simultaneously playful and absurd. Citing German Expressionism, post-war British sculpture and Primitivism as influences, her work also makes reference to more contemporary sub-cultural strands of sci-fi, the Goth-metal scene, psychedelia and horror films.

Caroline Achaintre and Martin Herbert will discuss the following questions:
– The revolution of Achaintre’s work through both thematics/subject matter and practical considerations relating to materials
– The importance of the carnivalesque as a theme
– The notion of the works as entities, and how the viewer might interpret and complete them
– How and why the art world has increasingly accommodated craft techniques and textiles
– How Achaintre synthesises the diverse influences in her work, and why she chooses them
– Achaintre’s use of humour and absurdism.

Caroline Achaintre, born in Toulouse (FR) in 1969 and brought up in Nuremberg (DE), lives and works in London. She works across a diverse range of media that includes textiles, ceramics, prints and watercolours, using techniques typically associated with the applied arts. Her work is colourful and potent, evoking the subversive spirit of Carnival and creating an atmosphere that is simultaneously playful and absurd. Citing German Expressionism, post-war British sculpture and Primitivism as influences, her work also makes reference to more contemporary sub-cultural strands of sci-fi, the Goth-metal scene, psychedelia and horror films.

Exhibitions
2018 (upcoming) Fantomas, De la Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea (UK). 2017 Escaner, Museo del Alabado, Quito. Caroline Achaintre, FRAC Champagne- Ardenne, Reims (FR). 2016 Caroline Achaintre, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead (UK). 2015 Caroline Achaintre, Tate Britain, London.

Publications
Ann Dressen, Zoe Gray, Emma Dean: Caroline Achaintre exhibition catalogue, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead and FRAC – Fonds Regional d’Art Contemporain Champagne-Ardenne, Reims 2016.

www.carolineachaintre.com

 
Portrait photo Caroline Achaintre

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

CAROLINE ACHAINTRE


Caroline Achaintre mit Martin Herbert
31. Juli 2018 / 19 Uhr

Galerie 5020, Residenzplatz 10,
Salzburg
Weisse Keramik Maske
Frank, 2013, Keramik
Courtesy Arcade, London
Foto: Andy Keate


Caroline Achaintre arbeitet mit einem breiten Spektrum an Medien, u.a. Textilien, Keramik, Druckgrafik und Aquarell – Techniken, die häufig mit angewandter Kunst assoziiert werden. Ihre Arbeiten sind kraftvoll und farbenreich, beschwören den subversiven Geist des Karnevals herauf und schaffen eine zugleich spielerische und absurde Atmosphäre. Neben deutschem Expressionismus, britischer Nachkriegsplastik und Primitivismus, die die Künstlerin als Einflüsse nennt, weisen ihre Arbeiten auch Bezüge zu mehr zeitgenössischen subkulturellen Szenen wie Sci-fi, Goth-Metal, Psychedelia und Horrorfilm auf.

Caroline Achaintre und Martin Herbert werden über folgenden Punkte sprechen:
– das Revolutionäre an Achaintres Werk sowohl in thematischer als auch praktisch-materieller Hinsicht
– die Bedeutung des Karnevalsken als Thema
– die Betrachtung der Arbeiten als Einheit und die Möglichkeit ihrer Interpretation und Vervollständigung durch den/die Betrachtende/n
– das zunehmende Eindringen von kunstgewerblichen und textilen Techniken in die Kunst und die Ursachen dafür
– die Art und Weise, wie Achaintre die verschiedenartigen Einflüsse in ihrem Werk synthetisiert und warum sie sich dafür entscheidet
– Achaintres Einsatz von Humor und Absurdität
Caroline Achaintre, geboren 1969 in Toulouse (FR), aufgewachsen in Nürnberg (DE), lebt und arbeitet in London. Sie arbeitet mit einem breiten Spektrum an Medien, u.a. Textilien, Keramik, Druckgrafik und Aquarell, und häufig mit der angewandten Kunst assoziierten Techniken. Ihre Arbeiten sind kraftvoll und farbenreich, beschwören den subversiven Geist des Karnevals herauf und schaffen eine zugleich spielerische und absurde Atmosphäre. Neben deutschem Expressionismus, britischer Nachkriegsplastik und Primitivismus, welche die Künstlerin als Einflüsse nennt, weisen ihre Arbeiten auch Bezüge zu mehr zeitgenössischen subkulturellen Szenen wie Sci-fi, Goth-Metal, Psychedelia und Horrorfilm auf.

Ausstellungen
2018 (in Planung) Fantomas, De la Warr Pavillion, Bexhill-on-Sea (UK). 2017 Escaner, Museo del Alabado, Quito. Caroline Achaintre, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, Reims (FR). 2016 Caroline Achaintre, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead (UK). 2015 Caroline Achaintre, Tate Britain, London.

Publikationen
Ann Dressen, Zoe Gray, Emma Dean: Caroline Achaintre exhibition catalogue, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead und FRAC – Fonds Regional d’Art Contemporain Champagne-Ardenne, Reims 2016.

www.carolineachaintre.com

 
Porträtfoto von Caroline Achaintre