Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

Cameron Jamie

6 August 2019 / 7–8 pm

Cameron Jamie, Pearline, 2017
Pearline, 2017, monotype, 81.2 × 59 cm, Courtesy Bernier-Eliades gallery, Athens, photo: Boris Kirpotin


Cameron Jamie is fascinated with everyday culture, whether backyard wrestling in Los Angeles, Hallowe’en in the suburbs of Detroit or the tradition of Krampus and Nikolaus in the Gastein Valley in the Austrian Alps. He investigates the dark side: barbarous, often originally pagan rituals, still present in specific traditions or everyday activities. Wrestling, Hallowe’en and Krampus are examples of three cultural traditions he has dealt with in films/videos: BB (2000), Spook House (2003) and Kranky Klaus (2003). As a rule, the films are not shown in the exhibition room; the artist prefers to present them in the cinema, accompanied by live music with the sludge metal band The Melvins.

For his sculptures and installations, on the other hand, he may work together with a traditional wood-carver (as for his exhibition in the Salzburger Kunstverein in 2004), or shape gigantic sculptures from clay. Small formats, such as drawings and artist’s books, also play an important role in his work. The Artist Talk will offer insights into some aspects of his diverse production.
Cameron Jamie, born in Los Angeles, CA (US), in 1969, lives and works in Paris. Jamie has built a body of work over a good 25 years using an enormous variety of media: It comprises wood sculptures, ceramics, drawings, prints, photographs, films, artist’s books, and musical productions. One of his central themes is identity as the existential foundation of the individual, which is generated by social and anti-social codes. Jamie’s view of marginalized realities and magically obscure rituals that embody the hidden side of our society is both analytical and immersive at the same time: Jamie himself is partly shaped by the subcultures that he transforms artistically. (see www.koelnischerkunstverein.de/ wp/cameron-jamie-bodies-faces-heads/)

Solo exhibitions
2018 Cameron Jamie: Solo Show, Kamel Mennour, London und Paris. Monotypes, Kamel Mennour, Paris. 2017 Cameron Jamie, Bernier/Eliades, Athens. Cameron Jamie: Drawings and Monotypes, CAPRI, Düsseldorf (DE). Bodies, Faces, Heads, Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne (DE). Cameron Jamie: Domestic Arenas: Massage the History, BB, Kranky Klaus, Gladstone Gallery, New York, NY (US). 2015 Cameron Jamie, Gladstone Gallery, New York, NY. 2014 Cameron Jamie, Bernier/Eliades Gallery, Athens.

Group exhibitions
2018 Mask, Kamel Mennour, London. Spectres, ou les perspectives menaçantes, ICI. Gallery, Paris. Backcovers: Summer, Fall, Winter, Spring, Museum im Bellpark, Kriens (CH). 2017 Voyage d’hiver, Palace of Versailles, Versailles (FR). Jeux, Rituels & Récréations, lille3000, Gare Saint Sauveur, Lille (FR). Point Quartz Flower of Kent, Villa Arson Nice, Nice (FR). EuroVisions: Contemporary Art from the Goldberg Collection, National Art School Gallery, Sydney (AU). The Absent Museum, Wiels, Brussels. Dizziness: Navigating the Unknown, Kunsthaus Graz, Graz (AT). Ruins in the Snow. High Art, Paris. 2016 Luster: Clay in Sculpture Today, Fundament Foundation, Park De Oude Warnade, Tilburg (NL). The Infinite Mix: Sound and Image in Contemporary Video, Hayward Gallery, London.
Cameron Jamie

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

Cameron Jamie

6. August 2019 / 19 Uhr

Cameron Jamie, Pearline, 2017, Monotypie, 81,2 × 59 cm
Pearline, 2017, Monotypie, 81,2 × 59 cm, Courtesy Bernier-Eliades Galerie, Athen, Foto: Boris Kirpotin


Cameron Jamie ist fasziniert von der Alltagskultur, sei es Hinterhofwrestling in Los Angeles, Halloween in den Suburbs von Detroit oder die Tradition von Krampus und Nikolaus im Gasteinertal in den österreichischen Alpen. Er erforscht die dunkle Seite: grausame, oftmals im Ursprung heidnische Rituale, die gegenwärtig in bestimmten Traditionen oder Alltagshandlungen immer noch präsent sind. Wrestling, Halloween und Krampus sind Beispiele für drei kulturelle Traditionen, denen er sich mit Filmen/Videos genähert hat: BB (2000), Spook House (2003) und Kranky Klaus (2003). In der Regel werden die Filme nicht im Ausstellungsraum gezeigt. Am liebsten präsentiert sie Jamie im Kino, begleitet von Livemusik der Sludge-Metal-Band The Melvins.

Für seine Skulpturen und Installationen wiederum arbeitet er z. B. mit einem traditionellen Holzschnitzer zusammen (so geschehen für seine Ausstellung im Salzburger Kunstverein 2004) oder er formt riesige Skulpturen aus Tonerde. Auch das kleine Format wie die Zeichnung oder das Künstlerbuch spielen für ihn eine wichtige Rolle. Das Kunstgespräch wird Einblick in einige Aspekte seiner vielfältigen Produktion geben.
Cameron Jamie, geboren 1969 in Los Angeles, CA (US), lebt und arbeitet in Paris.

Das Werk von Jamie ist über einen Zeitraum von gut 25 Jahren entstanden und von enormer medialer Vielfalt: Es umfasst Holzskulpturen, Keramiken, Zeichnungen, druckgrafische Arbeiten, Fotografien, Filme, Künstlerbücher sowie musikalische Produktionen. Eines seiner zentralen Themen ist Identität als existenzielle Grundlage des Individuums, die durch soziale und anti-soziale Codes erzeugt wird. Jamies Blick auf randständige Realitäten und magisch-obskure Rituale, die die verdeckte Seite unserer Gesellschaft verkörpern, ist analytisch und immersiv zugleich. ( siehe www.koelnischerkunstverein.de/ wp/cameron-jamiebodies-faces-heads/)

Einzelausstellungen
2018 Cameron Jamie: Solo Show, Kamel Mennour, London und Paris. Monotypes, Kamel Mennour, Paris. 2017 Cameron Jamie, Bernier/Eliades, Athen. Cameron Jamie: Drawings and Monotypes, Gladstone Gallery, New York, NY (US). 2015 Cameron Jamie, Gladstone Gallery, New York. 2014 Cameron Jamie, Bernier/Eliades Gallery, Athen.

Gruppenausstellungen
2018 Mask, Kamel Mennour, London. Spectres, ou les perspectives menaçantes, ICI. Gallery, Paris. Backcovers: Summer, Fall, Winter, Spring, Museum im Bellpark, Kriens (CH). 2017 Voyage d’hiver, Schloss Versailles, Versailles (FR). Jeux, Rituels & Récréations, lille3000, Gare Saint Sauveur, Lille (FR). Point Quartz Flower of Kent, Villa Arson Nizza, Nizza (FR). EuroVisions: Contemporary Art from the Goldberg Collection, National Art School Gallery, Sydney (AU). The Absent Museum, Wiels, Brüssel. Dizziness: Navigating the Unknown, Kunsthaus Graz, Graz (AT). Ruins in the Snow, High Art, Paris. 2016 Luster: Clay in Sculpture Today, Fundament Foundation, Park De Oude Warnade, Tilburg (NL). The Infinite Mix: Sound and Image in Contemporary Video, Hayward Gallery, London. Wait For Me At The Bottom Of The Pool, Gladstone Gallery, Brüssel. Strength in Numbers: Photography in Groups, Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh, PA (US). Void California, CCA Wattis, Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco, CA (US). Ceramix, de Rodin à Schütte, Cité de la Céramique, Sèvres (FR).

 
Cameron Jamie