Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Loading Events

(in the still of the night)

An exhibition by the Fotohof
9 August–25 November 2018 / 8–10 pm

Jahrsau. Erstmals urkundlich erwähnt: 1390, Gewüstet: 1970
Anne Heinlein, Jahrsau. Erstmals urkundlich erwähnt: 1390, Gewüstet: 1970, 2008


The exhibition (in the still of the night) brings together works that address questions of political power and repression, against a background of global conflicts.

In Ahlam Shibli’s Occupation (2016/17), the town of al-Khalil/Hebron is the pivotal point of a critical analysis of the now long-term state of emergency. The Palestinian artist shows confined urban spaces visibly marked by the forcible division of the town. Paradoxically, the signs of occupation and control – watch-towers, walls, fences, cameras, road blocks – seem to clear the view of the asymmetrical relations between the opposing sections of the population.

With Wüstungen (2016), Anne Heinlein and Göran Gnaudschun tell of places which, due to their location on the inner-German border, were razed to the ground, and their residents forced to “relocate”. Free treatment of the topic, using large-scale photographs, documents, conversations with contemporary witnesses and their own texts, results in an artistic form of historiography, focusing on time and memory as well as on the influence of political interests, power and repression on the individual and his/her identity.

In Control Order House (2011), British artist Edmund Clark shows an extreme form of state control. Since 2005, the British authorities have been permitted to detain suspected terrorists for an unspecified period without concrete evidence. In 2011, the artist was allowed access to a residential property used for this purpose. A photo-documentation of what he found there offers a detailed description of this special form of detention and control.

In Homesick (2014), Syrian artist Hrair Sarkissian takes a model of his parental home in Damascus as the basis for a very personal reflection on his own identity, the war, and a menacing future.

Curated by Peter Schreiner and Nadine Weixler
Opening 
9 August at 8 pm

Duration
10 August–29 September 2018

Opening hours
Tuesday–Friday 3–7 pm
Saturday 11 am–3pm

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Lade Veranstaltungen

(in the still of the night)


Eine Ausstellung des Fotohof
9. August–25. November 2018 / 20 Uhr

Fotohof, Inge Morath-Platz 1,
Salzburg
Anne Heinlein, Jahrsau. Erstmals urkundlich erwähnt: 1390
Anne Heinlein, Jahrsau. Erstmals
urkundlich erwähnt: 1390
, Gewüstet: 1970,
2008


Die Ausstellung (in the still of the night) versammelt Werke, welche sich mit Fragen nach politischer Macht und Repression vor dem Hintergrund globaler Konflikte auseinandersetzen.

In Ahlam Shiblis Occupation (2016/17) wird die Stadt al-Khalil/Hebron zum Dreh- und Angelpunkt einer kritischen Analyse des dauerhaft gewordenen Ausnahmezustands. Die palästinensische Künstlerin zeigt engste, von der gewaltsamen Teilung gezeichnete, urbane Räume. Die Zeichen von Besetzung und Kontrolle, Wachtürme, Mauern, Zäune, Kameras und Straßensperren scheinen paradoxerweise den Blick freizugeben auf die asymmetrisch verlaufenden Beziehungen der sich entgegenstehenden Bevölkerungsgruppen.

Das deutsche Künstlerduo Anne Heinlein und Göran Gnaudschun erzählt in Wüstungen (2016) von Orten, deren Lage an der innerdeutschen Grenze ihre Schleifung und die erzwungene Umsiedlung ihrer EinwohnerInnen zur Folge hatte. Der freie Umgang mit großformatigen Fotografien, Dokumenten, Gesprächen mit ZeitzeugInnen und eigenen Texten lässt dabei eine künstlerische Form von Geschichtsschreibung entstehen, welche Zeit und Erinnerung, aber auch das Wirken politischer Interessen, von Macht und Repression auf Individuen und deren Identität thematisiert.

Der britische Künstler Edmund Clark wiederum zeigt in Control Order House (2011) eine extreme Form staatlicher Kontrolle. So ist es den britischen Behörden seit 2005 erlaubt, Terrorverdächtige für unbestimmte Zeit und ohne Angabe von konkreten Beweisen „festzusetzen“. 2011 erhält der Künstler Zugang zu einem, für diesen Zweck genutzten, Wohnobjekt. Eine fotografische Dokumentation des Vorgefundenen wird zur genauen Beschreibung dieser speziellen Form von Haft und Kontrolle.

Dem aus Syrien stammenden Künstler Hrair Sarkissian dient in Homesick (2014) wiederum ein Modell seines Elternhauses in Damaskus zu einer sehr persönlichen Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Identität, dem Krieg und einer ungewissen Zukunft.

Kuratiert von Peter Schreiner und Nadine Weixler
Eröffnung
Donnerstag 9. August 2018 / 20 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer
10. August–29. September 2018

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag–Freitag 15–19 Uhr
Samstag 11–15 Uhr